[Coin-announce] IPOPT wins the Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software

Matthew Saltzman mjs at clemson.edu
Mon Apr 11 12:19:38 EDT 2011

Fron NA Digest Monday, April 11, 2011  Volume 11 : Issue 15: 

        From: "Jorge More'" <more at mcs.anl.gov>
        Date: Thu, 7 Apr 2011 17:14:41 -0400
        Subject: IPOPT wins the Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software 
        The 2011 Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software will be awarded to
        Andreas Waechter (IBM T. J. Watson Research Center) and Carl Laird
        (Texas A&M University) for IPOPT, a software library for solving
        nonlinear, nonconvex, large-scale continuous optimization problems.
        The presentation of the award will take place at the International
        Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM 2011) in
        Vancouver, BC, Canada.
        IPOPT is an object-oriented software library that facilitates the
        solution of large-scale continuous optimization problems. Interfaces
        for modeling languages (AMPL, GAMS), and for MATLAB, R, Java, and
        Python are included. In addition, IPOPT allows the use of several
        third-party solvers of sparse, symmetric indefinite linear systems.
        IPOPT has extensive documentation and a tutorial that allows users to
        install and use the package in a short period of time.
        IPOPT is available from the COIN-OR open source repository.  IPOPT has
        been used in a wide range of applications, including automatic tuning
        of transistor widths, inverse kinematics of a humanoid robot, dynamic
        optimization of chemical processes, portfolio optimization and risk
        management, water and wastewater management, hyperthermia treatment
        planning, optimal design of masks in wafer lithography, and the
        simulation of complex dynamical systems.
        The Wilkinson Prize is awarded every four years to the entry that best
        addresses all phases of the preparation of numerical software, and is
        sponsored by Argonne National Laboratory (US), the Numerical
        Algorithms Group (UK), and the National Physical Laboratory (UK).
        Jorge Moré
        Chair, Board of Trustees

Congratulations to Andreas and Carl.

                Matthew Saltzman

Clemson University Math Sciences
mjs AT clemson DOT edu

More information about the Coin-announce mailing list